MINISTRY STAFF

Ed Grover

LEAD  PASTOR

On staff since 2017

egrover@ocec.net

(503) 656-8582, ext. 103


Where were you born?  Covina, Calif.


Spouse or kids?  I'm married to Ellie my high school sweetheart and we have two kids, Tegan is 5 and Davie is 3.  I believe the technical term for my children is "high energy". We also have a cat named Owen and a dog named Barry. 


What do you do here?  I get to lead here as the primary preacher on Sunday mornings and lead our staff to discern and fulfill the vision God has given us together as a church.  I'm the newest addition to OCEC having just stepping into this role after previously serving in youth ministry, small groups and men's ministry at churches in northern and central California. 


Favorite food?  Salad.  For some reason I'm crazy for the greens.  Also I could probably eat the skin off of 8 Costco rotisserie chickens. 


Why Ministry?  God has given me a deep desire to see the people of His church taking part in his mission to reach the lost and make disciples.  He's also given me gifts to be able to lead, encourage and equip people to do this.  I find such great joy in seeing God use the people of OCEC live in such a way that fruit is produced for the kingdom.  


Favorite Attribute of God?  His grace.  I simply cannot fathom how God can know me with all my strengths and weaknesses, and still choose to love me and give me life. 


Where did you go to school?  Covina High, Cal State Bakersfield & Talbot School of Theology.


Passions: I love building and fixing things, spending time with Ellie and our kids, watching movies, reading

Dave lerud

Associate Pastor - Worship Arts

On staff since 1987

davel@ocec.net

(503) 656-8582, ext. 110


Where were you born?  Salem, Oregon


Spouse or kids?  Claudia and I met in college, married and had two children, now grown.  Our son is an Episcopal priest in Portland and our daughter teaches in the English Dept. at University of Oregon. Claudia is a Kindergarten teacher in the Oregon City School district. She and I share a historic 1887 house in Oregon City with Greta and Dottie, our dog and cat.


What do you do here?  I am the primary worship leader for the 1st service and give oversight to our worship and worship-support ministries, including audio/visual tech, hospitality and prayer.  I also get to conduct our Grateful Praise Choir. 


Favorite food? I am a sometimes-foodie who enjoys eating out, and I have a particular fondness for Italian fare.  Also, I like desserts way too much!


Why Ministry?  Since childhood I have known Jesus and wanted to serve Him.  I believe that however imperfect, His Church is the means by which He intends to change the world, and I want to be part of that cause.  Helping people experience God's presence in worship is one of the things I am especially motivated to do.  


Favorite Attribute of God?  I marvel at the extravagance of His Love!


Where did you go to school?  McNary High School, George Fox College and Western Evangelical Seminary.


Passions: I'm a musician with an artist's eye and passions who's also a bit of a perfectionist; I enjoy designing and creating beauty and impact using music and choir and productions.  At home, I like to create a beautiful garden.  I love to learn and like to read.  Most of all, I cherish time with my wife and family.  


josh shelton

Pastor of student ministries

On staff since 2004

joshs@ocec.net

(503) 656-8582, ext 104


Where were you born?  Portland, OR


Spouse or kids?  I'm married to Anna and we have two wonderful kids, Adelynne and Josiah.


What do you do here?  I am the mastermind of all things youth. I have the honor of working with the amazing youth of our church from 6th grade all the way up to 12th grade and little oversight to the college age. 


Favorite food?  Pizza (you saw that coming didn't you!). Lebanese food, hamburger, fresh caught salmon.


Why Ministry?  I love helping people grow in their relationship with God. It is a joy to watch the lightbulb come on when people have an encounter with  God. 


Favorite Attribute of God?  His love.  All the times I have not been loveable He still loves me and this love is an example of how I am to love others. 


Where did you go to school?  Country Christian School, Clackamas Community College, Multnomah University and Multnomah Seminary.


Passions: I love spending time with Anna and the kids, watching movies, hunting, fishing, riding my bike, working in my yard.

sue burson

Pastor of Children

On staff since 1989

sueb@ocec.net

(503) 656-8582, ext. 106


Where were you born? Britt, Iowa


Spouse or kids? I met and married Brent while we were in college and nine years later we became parents to Drew.  Beth was born three years later.  Drew and Beth are both married and live in the Portland area.  We have two adorable (and "perfect!") grandkids, Ellie (4) and Luke (2).  Our third grandchild is on the way!


What do you do here?   I am privileged to plan, coordinate and implement the ministries for children from birth through grade 5.  I  also oversee the Adult Sunday School classes.


Favorite food? Anything I get to select from a restaurant menu (i.e., things I didn't have to cook!)  I also love ice cream, particularly chocolate flavors.


Why Ministry?  I am passionate about helping others, especially children, come to know Jesus and follow Him.  I love studying God's Word and helping others grow in their relationship with God through His Word.  It is a joy to equip and train adults and teens to share the gospel with children and watch them experience the joy of helping a child connect with God.


Favorite Attribute of God?  His loving-kindness.  It is amazing to me how deeply God loves me, despite my flaws and failures.  He daily expresses His loving-kindness with small and large indications of His goodness, provision and care for me.


Where did you go to school? Oregon City High School, George Fox University & Talbot School of Theology.


Passions:  I LOVE spending time with Brent, the kids and grandkids.   At least one day off each week I head to Hillsboro to play with Ellie and Luke.   Brent and I love to vacation in Maui and enjoy it most when our family joins us there.  I also love reading, jigsaw puzzles, knitting and cross-stitching.  I just might be a little competitive about making sure I meet my daily step goal!